Two Common Workers’ Compensation Mistakes
When you are at work for 40 hours or more every week, accidents can happen. You slip and fall, an unsuspecting object drops on your foot or you cut yourself with a knife.
When an injury occurs in the workplace, state law requires your employer to compensate. In Illinois, you may be entitled to medical treatment of the injury, vocational rehabilitation, wage replacement and other benefits. If you have sustained a work-related injury, it is important to avoid these workers’ compensation claim mistakes.
You Don’t Report Your Injury
Compensation will not come for any injury unless you tell someone. In Illinois, you must notify your employer within 45 days of the incident. File a report with your employer to make sure they record your injury. This will help you in the process of filing a claim down the road.
A lot of employers will have you fill out a document detailing your grievance. If that does not happen, you may want to make your own document. This should include important details of the incident, such as a description of your injuries, when and where it happened as well as your contact information.
You Don’t See a Doctor
If you need medical attention, go to the doctor so that you can get the help you need. It will not ease the situation if you continue to work while injured. Make sure to follow the doctor’s orders as well. If you do not, you may be incapacitated for far longer than anticipated.
Getting hurt while at work is never easy. Having a better understanding of Illinois’s workers’ compensation system can help you recover the benefits you need.